Health Metro News

Lagos, FCT, Rivers, 5 other states on red alert over third wave of Covid-19

The Federal Government through the Presidential Steering Committee (PSC) on Covid-19 has placed 6 states and Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja on red alert to ensure a safe and healthy nationwide Eid-el-Kabir celebration.

This is also part of the preventive measures taken against the fast-spreading third wave of the coronavirus pandemic in the country.

The action from the government follows the confirmation of the Delta Variant of Covid-19, the rising number of infections and hospitalisation in the country.

According to a report from the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), this disclosure is contained in a statement issued by the Chairman of PSC, Mr Boss Mustapha, on Saturday evening in Abuja.

Mustapha, who also doubles as the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), listed the affected states apart from FCT to include Lagos, Oyo, Rivers, Kaduna, Kano and Plateau.

error: Content is protected !!